-->
Page 1 of 2

ESP12e has grounding problems

PostPosted: Tue Oct 04, 2016 3:33 pm
by ygrignon
I am using an ESP12e, NodeMCU and Lua to control 3 AC powered lights. It has the "nodemcu-master-7-modules-2016-06-07-17-38-12-integer" as a nodemcu/Lua interpreter with the "esp_iot_sdk_v1.4.0_15_09_18" bios. The ESP12e is installed in a custom PCB based on the following schematic.
Image
The 2 capacitors at the Vcc input of the ESP are not installed because they did not make any difference.
When I developped the Lua code with ESPlorer, I got everything to work: switches S1 to 3 turned the lights on and off and sent a message to an openHab server to inform it and when the openHab server sent an HTTP request to turn the lights on or off, it worked.
But when I disconnected my notebook from the board and let it run by itself, I noticed that it kept sending an update of the status of the 3rd switch several times per second. Only the 3rd switch (S3). If I said that I had only 2 switches, everything worked fine. It also did not respond well to the on/off cations of S2 and 3. I reconnected the notebook and it worked fine again. I disconnected Rx and Tx but left Ground connected and it worked fine.
Any suggestion?

Re: ESP12e has grounding problems

PostPosted: Wed Oct 05, 2016 5:28 am
by Barnabybear
Hi, how are yur switches connected? Which pins do you use? Do you have pullups?

Re: ESP12e has grounding problems

PostPosted: Wed Oct 05, 2016 7:44 am
by rudy
I do not see a picture of the schematic.

A picture(s) of what you have done would help a lot. As they say, a picture is worth a thousand words.

Re: ESP12e has grounding problems

PostPosted: Wed Oct 05, 2016 10:42 am
by ygrignon
Thanks for the replies. I included the schematic in my post. I had some difficulty. I see it fine but I have the feeling that you don't. So here are the 1000 words that will have to replace the picture.
The 3 switches, S1, S2, S3, are tied to GPIO4, 5 and 0. There is a pull-up 22k resistor on GPIO0/S3 to insure that it boots in application mode unless S3 is depressed at power-up. GPIO4 and 5 use the internal pull-up. On the PCB, S3 is the furthest away from the ESP12e.
I have tried to post the schematic as an attachment. Hope that you see it.