-->
Page 1 of 2

Programming ESP 12 with Arduino problem

PostPosted: Thu Apr 09, 2015 8:54 am
by ramsbod
I am trying to setup the ESP 12 with my Arduino Uno. I have made all the connections as described http://www.instructables.com/id/Getting ... /?ALLSTEPS.
I am using a seperate 3.3V power supply 1A. I have commoned the GND connections. I am using windows 7 with Arduino IDE 1.6.3. (latest). I am using some 10M and 20M resistors as voltage dividers for the RX and TX connections. Also tried zener diodes. I have tries all the baud rates. Whenever I set Rest pin to GND I just get back jibberish. What could be wrong? Please help.

Re: Programming ESP 12 with Arduino problem

PostPosted: Thu Aug 13, 2015 6:09 am
by ramiz mlk
hello,
I am trying to connect my arduino ide-1.6.5 with esp-12 i am not able to upload the code. Anybody plz help me out with proper connection and most important the voltage required to run it and where to connect it.

Re: Programming ESP 12 with Arduino problem

PostPosted: Thu Aug 13, 2015 11:23 am
by kolban
Howdy there,
I think you will find many of your answers through a scan of the forum. If you have specific questions, we will be happy to assist. For example, the ESP8266 requires 3.3V ... do not try and run it with 5V ... it will die. It also requires a current source of at least 200mA. Personally, I recommend running it from its own power-supply such as an MB102. As to how to connect the device to your computer ... I recommend a USB->UART connector ... there are many flavors available such as the devices made by FTDI or the CP2102 devices.

Neil

Re: Programming ESP 12 with Arduino problem

PostPosted: Fri Aug 14, 2015 6:02 pm
by Touliloup
Do you have an esp-12e? I found out the esp-12e cannot be programmed from Arduino IDE like the other esp-xx. I don't remember exactly which pin need to be connected in addition to CH_PD and GPIO0 (maybe gpio12 or 15?), I'll look it up if you need.



EDIT: ok my mistake, I've used the esp-12 with an IO board which already include some pulldown resistor explaining why it didn't work with the esp-12e without IO board...
Connection for me are as following in programming mode:
GPIO0, GPIO15 and GND to GND.
EN (CH_PD) and VCC to 3.3V.
RX to TX and TX to RX. Both ftdi and esp GND connected together.
One click on RST (Connect to GND briefly) when Arduino ESP finished compiling and start upload.

For normal operation I use the same connection except GPIO0 which I let floating (not connected).

Recently however my board started to be very difficult to program without error and was always reseting at startup, not even starting to execute the program.
The only thing I could see was the reset information printed via serial output every 2 or 3 seconds :
Code: Select allets Jan  8 2013,rst cause:2, boot mode:(3,7)

load 0x4010f000, len 1464, room 16
tail 8
chksum 0x7a
csum 0x7a

I've tried changing power supply, adding some capacitor, ... nothing worked. Finally I've solve this problem by erasing the flash from esptool.py with the following command "python esptool.py --port COM5 --baud 76800 erase_flash".
You can find more info and the complete procedure here: https://github.com/esp8266/Arduino/issu ... t-96399149