-->
Page 1 of 1

ESP8266-12e + FT232 + Arduino IDE

PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2019 11:22 am
by Ricardo Ouvinã
Hi, I'm new here.
I've made my own ESP8266-12e development board to be used with the Arduino IDE, but I can't manage to upload anything to the board. I am using a FT232RL for UART communication (https://www.ftdichip.com/Support/Documents/DataSheets/ICs/DS_FT232R.pdf).
I put the board into programming mode, my computer detects a new device as usbserial-A90J7PTX (I am using a Mac by the way) but when I try to upload the program via Arduino IDE, I get the error message: espcomm_upload_mem failed

Has anyone tried this before?

Re: ESP8266-12e + FT232 + Arduino IDE

PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2019 3:25 am
by QuickFix
Ricardo Ouvinã wrote:I've made my own ESP8266-12e development board

We need a schematic (or at least a description) of your board to say something sensible.

How is the board putting the ESP into programming mode?
Does is actually have automatic flash- and reset-circuitry?
Can you put the board into programming mode manually?
ESPModes.png

Re: ESP8266-12e + FT232 + Arduino IDE

PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2019 10:25 am
by Ricardo Ouvinã
QuickFix wrote:We need a schematic (or at least a description) of your board to say something sensible.

Here is the schematic:
sch2.png


QuickFix wrote:How is the board putting the ESP into programming mode?
Does is actually have automatic flash- and reset-circuitry?
Can you put the board into programming mode manually?

I use a switch for the GPIO0 and keep the GPIO15 at GND and GPIO2 at VCC. To reset I unplug and plug the power. To put the ESP into programming mode I simply press the switch at the GPIO0 and power the board.

Re: ESP8266-12e + FT232 + Arduino IDE

PostPosted: Tue Feb 12, 2019 3:36 pm
by Ricardo Ouvinã
QuickFix wrote:We need a schematic (or at least a description) of your board to say something sensible.

Here is my schematic:
sch2.png


QuickFix wrote:How is the board putting the ESP into programming mode?
Does is actually have automatic flash- and reset-circuitry?
Can you put the board into programming mode manually?


I put the board into programming mode by pushing the button on GPIO0 and connecting the board to power via USB.