-->
Page 1 of 1

GET Request not returning a reply from the server.

PostPosted: Wed Nov 20, 2019 12:22 pm
by Moltenlava
So I'm an absolute newbie to the esp and electronics, in general, I picked this board up so i could make a project and upload some data to my website. After a week i managed to set up a database and make a URL in which the data has to be entered in order to update the database so all i would have to do is open the link with the esp. After watching some tutorials this is what i did:
1: Used RealTerm as the communication software
2:Entered the following code (i changed the website to a dev testing one):
Code: Select allAT+RST\r\n
AT+CWJAP="*****","*******"\r\n
AT+CIPSTART="TCP","jsonplaceholder.typicode.com",80\r\n
AT+CIPSEND=61\r\n       //I have no idea how I got this number I just experimented a lot till it actually sent the 
                                                                                                           request                                                                                                     
GET /jsonplaceholder.typicode.com/posts?id=2 HTTP/1.1\r\n Host: jsonplaceholder.typicode.com\r\n\r\n


And this is my Console Output:
Code: Select allAT+RST
OK

Vendor:www.ai-thinker.com             
                                                   
SDK Version:0.9.5(b1)
                                                         
Compiled @:Dec 25 2014, 21:50:58
                               
ready
           
AT+CWJAP="*********","******"\r\n
OK

AT+CIPSTART="TCP","jsonplaceholder.typicode.com",80
CONNECT

OK
AT+CIPSEND=61
> GET /posts?id=2 HTTP/1.1 Host: jsonplaceholder.typicode.com
SEND OK
   




Am i not supposed to be getting a reply from the server and some HTML stuff is supposed to pop up after the GET right? But all i get is a SEND OK message. I'm guessing i forgot some character or i got the newlines, carriage returns wrong. Any help would be appreciated.

Re: GET Request not returning a reply from the server.

PostPosted: Thu Nov 21, 2019 1:02 pm
by Moltenlava
Alright, I fixed it apparently my firmware was messing up, I had the AI v9.5.0 AT firmware which for some reason did not handle my /r/n's well so I had to flash the v0.9.5.2 AT Firmware. Hope this may help someone someday :)