-->
Page 1 of 1

OTA doesn't work on my my main computer (laptop works fine)

PostPosted: Sun Sep 04, 2016 3:16 pm
by frischevollmilch
Hello,

For some reason the espota.py script doesn't work from my computer anymore. I haven't used in a while so I don't know what exactly I changed but this is the debug output I get when running espota.py from the console with -d argument:

Code: Select allPS C:\Users\username> python.exe C:\Users\username\AppData\Local\Arduino15\packages\esp8266\hardware\esp8266\2.3.0/tools/espot
a.py -i 192.168.0.30 -p 8266 --auth= -f C:\Users\username\AppData\Local\Temp\buildfc7f339feb15fa84beb378be879f6f97.tmp\Project1.ino.bin -d
22:06:06 [DEBUG]: Options: {'auth': '', 'image': 'C:\\Users\\username\\AppData\\Local\\Temp\\buildfc7f339feb15fa84beb378be8
79f6f97.tmp\\Project1.ino.bin', 'esp_ip': '192.168.0.30', 'debug': True, 'host_port': 35237, 'esp_port': 8266, 'progress'
: False, 'spiffs': False, 'host_ip': '0.0.0.0'}
22:06:06 [INFO]: Starting on 0.0.0.0:35237
22:06:06 [INFO]: Upload size: 322992
22:06:06 [INFO]: Sending invitation to: 192.168.0.30
22:06:06 [INFO]: Waiting for device...
22:06:16 [ERROR]: No response from device

On my laptop however that I rarely use for coding it works just fine. On both machines I am using Python 3.5.2 (python.exe --version). I also tried reinstalling the esp8266 inside the Arduino IDE. The problem shouldn't be related to my network or the ESP8266 I am using because it works on one of two machines, so it must be a problem with my computer somehow.

Does anybody know how I can fix this?

Thanks for reading!

Re: OTA doesn't work on my my main computer (laptop works fi

PostPosted: Mon Sep 05, 2016 6:23 am
by eduperez
Did you check for the obvious: firewall, IP address, ...?

Re: OTA doesn't work on my my main computer (laptop works fi

PostPosted: Mon Sep 05, 2016 10:50 am
by frischevollmilch
Yes, I forgot to post the output I get on the ESP8266 Serial console:

Code: Select all[OTA] Start

[OTA] Progress: 0%
[OTA] Error[2]: Connect Failed

[OTA] Error[4]: End Failed


So IP address must be fine. I tried disabling the firewall completely which didn't help either.

Edit: Nevermind, I forgot to click "OK" after disabling the firewall. It blocked python.exe on public networks, which apparently my home network gets identified as...

Thanks for the suggestion!