-->
Page 1 of 2

Reading a voltage on a pin of the ESP83266-01

PostPosted: Thu Jun 20, 2019 4:39 pm
by Da9L
I need some advice on a project I'm thinking of. We have an old heater using oil in our house, and i thought it could be cool to see how much it was running/burning. So i took its burners cover off and discovered that on two pins on its diagnostics connector, around 3v was send out when it was running.

My initial idea was then to have those pins attached to one of an Arduinos Analog inputs, that would then log when 3v was detected on it.

Then i figured that i could maybe instead use one of the ESP8266-01 modules i had. Would this be soutable for this task? And if so, how? I've tried reading around the net if i could use one of its two GPIO pins for this, but not sure if its possible. I would also need to somehow scale the voltage down from 3v to a maximum of 1v if i understand it all correctly.

Once a voltage signal is detected on the ESP8266-01 it would send a web request to a webservice i will make for the purpose, that would then set the start time of the burner, and then another webrequest once the voltage is gone again.

Hope to get some tips and suggestions, mainly how i can make the ESP8266-01 detect 3v on one of its pins.

Re: Reading a voltage on a pin of the ESP83266-01

PostPosted: Thu Jul 04, 2019 7:52 am
by Da9L
Im taking the liberty to "up" my topic here since it took two weeks just to approve it for some reason, its gone way down on the topic list.

Re: Reading a voltage on a pin of the ESP83266-01

PostPosted: Thu Jul 04, 2019 9:28 am
by schufti
depends on the "other" voltage level.
If it is 0V then you are lucky as 0/3V are the L/H levels that esp understands generically; so any gpio would be ok.
BUT: gpio0/2 (the only ones on esp-01) can be problematic as they have to be H for booting your sketch.

Re: Reading a voltage on a pin of the ESP83266-01

PostPosted: Thu Jul 04, 2019 9:31 am
by Da9L
schufti wrote:depends on the "other" voltage level.
If it is 0V then you are lucky as 0/3V are the L/H levels that esp understands generically; so any gpio would be ok.
BUT: gpio0/2 (the only ones on esp-01) can be problematic as they have to be H for booting your sketch.


I don't need the gpio to boot the unit. It can be running from other power all the time :-)