-->
Page 1 of 2

ESP8266 - no IP, lockups

PostPosted: Sun Jan 11, 2015 9:41 am
by Edocecrous
Hi,

I have two of these modules, and spent a day trying to make them work... @.@
It sounds all simple: Connect GND, VCC, RX, TX, CH_PD, and then you could fire up Putty, set baud to 115200, and start experimenting with AT+ ....

Well, my module(s) didn't behave like that. I got gibberish over the terminal, then i got a continuous reset looking thingy when i went down to 9600 baud.
After a lot of reading, i gave it nice 3.3v, and over 9600 i got some gibberish then: [Vendor:www.ai-thinker.com Version:0.9.2.4] and ready!
Man, was i happy! Not for long, when i noticed none of the AT commands worked...
Ok, it seems i got it with not the AT firmware.

After finding a nice post, i downloaded firmware flasher, and flashed ESP_8266_BIN0.92.bin on it.

Reset, again some gibberish, but accepting AT commands! I could list tha access points, even reached a point when i could list the access points.
Getting no IP though.
Then i downloaded some chinese firmware flashing tool, that seemed to able to load stuff to different segments of memory. I could start some update nicely and it flashed the same garbage to my device that it was shipped with. Again no AT commands. Now i'm back to the first firmware, and i get responses from the module like:
AT+CWLAP?
output is: no this fun

Could switch it to MODE1, and got the list of AP available, and tried to connect to my own AP.
AT+CWJAP="WALLE","passs"
OK
AT+CWJAP?
+CWJAP:"WALLE"
OK
AT+CWMODE?
+CWMODE:1
OK

but AT+CIFSR keeps returning ERROR
When i switch to MODE3, CWLAP doesn't work either
AT+GMR returns: 00170901
It also likes to freeze up at AP+CWLAP

At this point any help is appreciated. O.o

Originally i had plans to write my own firmware, but what these modules showed so far is really disappointing.

Re: ESP8266 - no IP, lockups

PostPosted: Sun Jan 11, 2015 10:42 am
by gwizz
Hello there Edocecrous

They call it hardware because it's hard!! :D

Most of us had to go through a painful period of trying out things, doing some more reading, etc. before we could get the chips working. But that makes it all the more rewarding when you do!

Have you tried the latest AT firmware? And why not also try the nodemcu firmware?

If you got communication to the point of listing your access points then you must have a lot of things right.

Try another firmware and see if you get anything at 9600 or at 115200 baud. Take care when downloading - some people have had trouble with this if they aren't familiar with git. Download the zip from the github repository webpage if you are unsure.

Re: ESP8266 - no IP, lockups

PostPosted: Mon Jan 12, 2015 3:25 am
by Edocecrous
Hi,

Thanks for the pointers. In the zip i can find blank, boot, esp_init and user1 and user2 bins.
Could you give me some info to what address should i upload these to?
Maybe what are they doing?
I know probably i could find this out by searching a bit more, but i'm a bit down now because of all the failures, and appreciate the help.
:P

ps.: I like hardware, and i'm a relic who still codes in assembly language.

Re: ESP8266 - no IP, lockups

PostPosted: Mon Jan 12, 2015 3:52 am
by Athena
:o :cry: The latest AT is AT_v0.20

You can get it on Espressif official BBS http://bbs.espressif.com/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=93

And guide for user starter is here http://bbs.espressif.com/viewforum.php?f=21